What Academy Awards have Star Wars films won?

Feb 6, 2019
Ben Burtt Academy Award win Star Wars
Ben Burt, C3PO and Mark Hamill

What Oscars did Star Wars win?

You don't necessarily think of Star Wars films as being Academy Award winners but they are.

When Star Wars was released in 1977 it was not just the movie goers that loved it, the critical reception was positive so when it came to Oscar seasons, Star Wars actually got 10 nominations and won 7.

That's right A New Hope won 7 Oscars, an incredible achievement for a science fiction film.

George Lucas got a director's gong nod and Alec Guinness famously got a best-supporting actor's nomination for his efforts as the fatherly Obi-Wan Kenobi however neither won the award. The movie also failed to win Best Picture and Best Script.

Star Wars: A New Hope won Oscars for:
  • Best Art Direction-Set Decoration
  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Sound
  • Best Film Editing
  • Best Effects, Visual Effects
  • Best Music, Original Score
So Star Wars: A New Hope won 6 Oscars in total.

A key fact is that the person who won the gong for Film editing, was George Lucas's wife, Marcia Lucas. The tale of editing Star Wars is actually quite the story.

By the time Empire rolled around, Lucas and film director Irvine Kershner had some issues with the Directors Guild of America so it would seem these issues contributed to a lack of nominations, or perhaps the business had got over the sensation of Star Wars and were not so star struck. 
  • The Empire Strikes back won a gong for Best Sound.
  • Jedi won a special achievement award for Visual Effects. 
While the awards dried up, the innovations that Lucasfilm came up with during production had a long and lasting effect on Hollywood and paved the way for many other movie makers which is probably the most rewarding thing for Lucas.

So in total Star Wars movies have won 8 Oscars, 7 being real ones.

Other worthy awards won include a Golden Globe for John Williams' score and a BAFTA for Best Sound.

The Phantom Menace was nominated for three awards:

  • Oscar Best Sound - Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, Shawn Murphy, John Midgley
  • Best Effects, Sound Effects Editing - Ben Burtt, Tom Bellfort
  • Best Effects, Visual Effects - John Knoll, Dennis Muren, Scott Squires, Rob Coleman
The Attack of the Clones was nominated for one award:
  • Best Visual Effects - Rob Coleman, Pablo Helman, John Knoll, Ben Snow
Revenge of the Sith was nominated for one award:
  • Achievement in Makeup - Dave Elsey, Nikki Gooley

The Force Awakens was nominated for five awards:

  • Film Editing – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey
  • Original Score – John Williams 
  • Visual Effects – Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan, and Chris Corbould
  • Sound Editing – Matthew Wood and David Acord 
  • Sound Mixing – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson 

Rogue One was nominated for two Oscars:

  • Sound Mixing - David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson
  • Visual Effects - John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal T. Hickel, Neil Corbould

The Last Jedi was nominated for four awards:

  • Original Score – John Williams 
  • Visual Effects – Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Chris Corbould, and Neal Scanlan
  • Sound Editing – Matthew Wood and Ren Klyce
  • Sound Mixing – Stuart Wilson, Ren Klyce, David Parker, and Michael Semanick 
Solo: A Star Wars story was nominated for a single gong:
  • Best Visual Effects - Rob Bredow, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Dominic Tuohy

0 Rogue Ones:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.
Back to Top