The complete list of Star Wars film release dates

May 22, 2016

The complete list of Star Wars film release dates

The release of Star Wars films are some of the most anticipated dates in film history. While everyone when nuts with impatience in the year Empire was released, arguably the most anticipated dates in Star Wars film history were those for The Phantom Menace and The Force Awakens.

Here's a list of all the Star Wars film dates, and yes, we threw into the list the animated The Clone Wars film, and the two Ewok adventure spins offs as they are all part of the Star Wars family (who doesn't love a Gorax!). Yes, you too Star Wars Holiday movie.

Film Release date

A New Hope May 25, 1977
Star Wars Holiday Special November 17, 1978
The Empire Strikes Back May 21, 1980
Return of the Jedi May 25, 1983
Caravan of Courage November 25, 1984
The Battle for Endor November 24, 1985
The Phantom Menace May 19, 1999
Attack of the Clones May 16, 2002
Star Wars: The Clone Wars August 10, 2008
Revenge of the Sith May 19, 2005
The Force Awakens  December 18, 2015
Rogue One December 16, 2016
The Last Jedi December 15, 2017
The Rise of Skywalker May 24, 2019

So of these movies, the Holiday special and the two Ewok movies are no longer considered official canon.

You'll note that for the first six 'big movies' they traditionally had a release date of sometime in the month of May. New Hollywood marketing realities since those movies were made (and a delay in the production of The Force Awakens) meant the December Christmas Holiday season is the favoured release window.

0 Rogue Ones:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.
Back to Top